• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google+
  • Gmail
  • Print Friendly

Communication is essential in building good relationships with your employees or contractors. It could be bit challenging, though, for employers or business owners who are managing remote workers or a virtual team. You don’t share and work in a physical office and you don’t see each other in person.

Fortunately, there are ways for you to effectively communicate with your virtual team and establish a good relationship with them. Here are some of them:

Use Different Channels

Technology plays a big and important role in today’s businesses, especially for those that operate virtually. You can connect to your team electronically and send messages in multiple ways. Regular correspondence, particularly related to work, can be done via email. You can keep them in the loop by using various internal communications tools. For more immediate communication, you’ll find instant messaging apps like Skype or Facebook messenger very useful. The whole team can even access and use these apps through their smartphones, which makes mobile a great communication channel too!

Remember to observe email, chat, and phone etiquette. Make sure that you are able to convey the right messages and express the right emotions to avoid miscommunication or conflicts.

Set Regular Meetings

Always keep your team informed and develop your relationship with them by setting regular meetings. You can hold video calls or conferences using different communication technologies. If possible, you can also set a meeting in your physical office, a co-working space, restaurant, or café. This also gives everyone the opportunity to meet the other team members in person and talk about work and anything under the sun.

Engage in Small Talks

Communicating with your team doesn’t always have to involve work-related matters. If you wish to improve your relationship with them and better manage them, it’s best if you also engage in small or informal talks. This is one great way of getting to know your virtual team. Try talking to them about their family and hobbies, as well as sports, entertainment, and politics.

If you are a business owner managing a virtual team or a remote workforce, the communication strategies and tools we mentioned could work for you! Discover more insights by joining the second Actions4Growth Virtual Group and Pepper Virtual Assistants’ online conference meeting on Wednesday, May 2 (1pm BST /9pm PHT/8am EST/5am PST / 6am CST). The topic for this conference is “Tips for Managing a Remote Workforce.” It will be facilitated by Lena Benjamin MBA – founder of Actions4Growth and EmpowerHERGlobal.com and Melissa de León-Venida – Business Manager of Pepper Virtual Assistants.

Reserve a slot now! To get more information about the online conference meeting, email actions4growth@lenabenjamin.com or visit actions4growth-virtualgroup.eventbrite.com.  You will receive joining instructions once you have registered.

Are you looking to start or grow your business? Contact us to find out how our virtual assistants can help you.

Pepper Virtual Assistants is a business solutions firm that specializes in virtual administrative and personal assistance, online marketing, customer support, and copywriting. We are known for reliability through our managed services, responsive client handling backed by extensive training, and rockstar virtual assistants hired for their skills and expertise.

Share This